New Kitchen Aid for the Win!

Posted on August 17, 2012. Filed under: Deserts | Tags: , , |

I finally got to break in my Kitchen Aid. Matt was the one who suggested it actually. He said “Didn’t you want to bake something?” and of course, I always say “Well, what would you like, cause you like less things then I do.” “Just make some snickerdoodles. You know what I like” Well, in my crazy fashion, I didn’t want cookies. I wanted cupcakes. So, I went to google and asked them if such a thing as snickerdoodle cupcakes, and there is! The first two recipes called for cake flour and I don’t have cake flour, but the third recipe was perfect. It had a cookie bottom and a cupcake top, perfect! This recipe did have a cream cheese icing, but I don’t have cream cheese, so I did what my mom does with her blueberry muffins and just sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top. That’s how snickerdoodles come anyway, so it’s kind of perfect.  Besides the fact that I stepped on the cat (he loves following me while I’m in the kitchen, it’s always dinner time, right?) this was a pretty fast baking experience. I can’t wait to eat them! (BURNED TONG!!)

Let me tell you, using a brand new kitchen aid is kind of amazing. I’ve never been the first to use one and it was pretty exciting. The motor on it is so quiet! Normally I’m used to the motor drowning out EVERYTHING ELSE. I love having the TV or the radio on while I’m cooking, but I had given up on having it on while I was baking because the kitchen aid was so loud. Not this one, the TV drowned it out almost completely. The model that Matt got me also has the bowl that locks on the bottom and that one is so much easier to use. The top also flips up instead of slides up and down, and I think that helps for doing stuff like scrapping off the beater. Now that I’ve gotten the taste of baking again, watch out, I do have a few days off next week! If anyone wants anything, come forward and I’ll make you something. (maybe for a price, depends on what it is).

 

Snickerdoodle Cookie Cupcakes
(From http://www.howsweeteats.com/2011/11/snickerdoodle-cookie-cupcakes/)

Cookie layer
1/4 cup butter, at room temperature
1/2 cup  brown sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3/4 cups all-purpose flour
pinch of salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoons cinnamon
1 tablespoon milk, if needed

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Beat butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer until smooth. Add egg and vanilla, mixing well until combine, about 2 minutes. Stir in flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Mix until dough comes together. Add in milk. If dough is crumbly, add milk 1 teaspoon at a time until it comes together.
  3. Refrigerate dough while you make cupcake batter.

Cake layer

1/2 cup butter, at room temperature
3/4 cup granulated sugar
2 whole eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup milk
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

  1. Cream butter and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer until fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add eggs and vanilla and beat until combined.
  2. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl. Add half of the dry ingredients, mixing until just combined. Add the milk. Once mixed, add remaining dry ingredients.
  3. Line muffin tins with cupcake liners and add about 1 1/2 tablespoons (or however much you’d like for thicker cookie bottoms) of cookie dough in the bottom of the liner. Even out the dough with the back of a non-stick sprayed spoon. Using an ice cream scoop, drop batter (about 2 heaping tablespoons worth) on top of cookie dough mixture. Bake cupcakes at 350 degrees for 15-18 minutes.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,475 other followers

