Wow, I am sorry!

Posted on July 30, 2009. Filed under: Deserts | Tags: , , |

It has been forever since I’ve written in here! I blame my lack of time to bake, or eat out. I am and have been working with Ohio Light Opera since May 15 and have been in the dorms. Meaning I have no real kitchen save a friend’s that I can use on occasion. Which hasn’t happened either because I haven’t had enough time off to bake. Well, that results in a problem when I have a baking addiction. Yesterday I finally got to bake again and went a little crazy. By a little I mean 2 pies, a quadruple batch of my famous “feet” cookies, apple peach sause, and taught a friend, Sam, how to bake oatmeal raisn cookies, because she had NEVER made cookies by herself before. I was very proud of her, she did well, they tasted like I had made them, good job Sam!

Her very first Batch of cookies every!

Her very first Batch of cookies ever!

 I, of course, took pictures of my pies, the top crusts didn’t turn out like I wanted them to, but then again, they never do

Granny Smith Apple Pie

Granny Smith Apple PiePeach and Blackberry pie, minus ginger

The only new things I tried were a peach apple sauce, which is very simple, and we added cocoa to some of the “feet” cookies. We discovered when adding the cocoa, you need to add more milk and vanilla, but we eyeballed it so I have no idea how much, but they turned out great!
Peach Apple Sauce
1-2 lbs Granny Smith apples
1 1/2 sticks of butter
1-2 lbs peaches
lemon juice
Sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg to taste
  1. Melt butter in a sauce pan. Add cut up peaches and apples, cover with juice, sugar and spices over medium heat.
  2. Stir to make sure fruit doesn’t stick to the pan, making sure to start mashing the fruit when it becomes soft.
  3. Let simmer over low heat, stiring occasinly to stop burning.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

