Got to love authentic

Posted on August 6, 2009. Filed under: Dining |

The artistic director of OLO happens to be from New Olreans, and I had heard from people who had worked here in the past that he makes a great company dinner every year featuring some authentic cajun food. Last night was the company dinner. It was SO GOOD. There was rice with either gumbo or etufe (I had the etufe, really wanted some shrimp!) tilapia, pork and some salads.  Its one thing to get cajun at a resturant, and then its another thing to get it from someone who’s made for years right from New Olreans. I’d love to be able to cook like that, I’m getting there, I just won’t be able to make cajun like that. The last gumbo I made I had to use pasta cut up because I didn’t have any rice. It was still good, but not amazing. Maybe I should go to cooking school. Nah, why would I do that if I can just learn from doing myself? It’s a lot cheaper that way.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

