Oh Kitchen Aid mixer, my old friend

Posted on August 16, 2009. Filed under: Deserts | Tags: , |

Today I planned to wash my car, my horn, and clean out my gerbil’s house (which still isn’t done actually). After cleaning and playing my horn, I was taking a break and doing some stumbling and talking to my friend Victoria about a chocolate tart recipe I found and wanted to try. My mom said we didn’t own a tart pan, but for some reason I still really wanted to bake. I then remembered that my best friend had gotten me a checkerboard cake pan set for my birthday. Remember those?

Checkerboard cake! 

It looks like its still from the 50s, but this set was brand new, bought it from Marshalls. (When I say she bought it for me, I was standing right there staring at it so she bought it for me.) I decided to try the recipe on the back and see how it turns out. One thing I did discover was that when the recipe says divide in half, you have to divide excatly in half.  I was a little off, and had to make more of the vanilla cake, all I did then was divide the recipe in half and used that. Then there was left over batter, and I made that into cupcakes.

Checkerboard Cake
3 oz semi-sweet chocolate
4 cps cake flour
3 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 cp unsalter butter
2 cp sugar
4 eggs
1 tbsp vanilla
1 1/3 cp milk

  1. Melt chocolate over hot water, set aside to cool slightly.
  2. In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside
  3. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Add vanilla.
  4. Add milk and flour to butter mixture, alternating each until batter is smooth. Beat at medium-high speed for 30 seconds.
  5. Divide batter in half. Stir melted chocolate into one half of the batter until uniform in color.
  6. Place checkerboard divider into one prepared pan (I cheated, my mom had an old set with 2 dividers, so all three pans were prepped at once). Pour in the two batters, light then dark: in 2 of the pans: Dark- light-dark, the last pan (which will be the middle of the cake) light-dark-light. Remove divider
  7. Place pans in 325 degree oven for 25 minutes, or until toothpick comes out clean. Remove from pans to cool.
  8. When cakes are cool, stack, only putting a thin layer of frosting in between the layers.

Chocolate Butter Icing
3 oz baking chocolate
6 tbsp milk
3 cps powdered sugar
6 tbsp butter
dash of salt
1 tbsp vanilla

  1. Measure all ingredients.
  2. Melt chocoalte.
  3. heat milk to boiling, remove from heat, add sugar and beat until smooth.
  4. Add melted chocolate and cool to lukewarm.
  5. Beat butter until creamy. Add salt, vanilla, and chocolate and beat.
  6. Spread at once.

Here’s what they looked like right after they came out of the oven:

This one was the least messed up

This one was the least messed up

This one's pretty good to actually

This one's pretty good to actually

Then there's this one..with the ying yang

Then there's this one..with the ying yang

After frosting

After frosting

Side View!

Side View!

Cupcakes made from the extra batter

Cupcakes made from the extra batter

My sister finally cut a piece, so this is how it looks!

My sister finally cut a piece, so this is how it looks!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

