Is it hard to go wrong with Mexican food?

Posted on September 13, 2009. Filed under: Dining | Tags: |

In case my readers couldn’t tell, I really like Mexican food. For the longest time, I had no idea how good it was because my mother doesn’t like anything exotic (Mexican, Chinese, nuts, spicy food…eggplant) and since she did the cooking, we only ate what she liked. In highschool that changed when I got my first job and was able to go to different places to eat. Taco Bell was the first, and I know Taco Bell is NOT Mexican at all, but it was a start. When I was in college I got my first taste of Mexican food with my favorite place, Puerta Vallerta, which I’ve talked about in this blog probably a few times. Yesterday for dinner my co workers and I went to El Salto, which is located on the corner of Ridge and Calumet in Munster. It had opened up while I was in college in place of Old Town Hall Resturant, and had never gotten to try until yesterday. As the custom in every Mexican resturant, we were given chips and their own special blend of salsa, which is made there in the resturant. I’m addicted to chips and salsa anyway, but the salsa there is amazingly good. Attempting to stay healthy (no, I didn’t get the taco salad, could’t do it) I got the garden quesidillas. There was so much cheese and veggitables in it I had trouble trying to eat my refried beans and rice afterwords. Wednesday night is margarittas before opening, so I can’t wait to taste their huge (I saw another table with some) margarittas, which I’m sure will please me just as much as their food had.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

