Food baby!

Posted on September 21, 2009. Filed under: Appitizers, Main Course | Tags: , |

There aren’t many things that make me say “GOD I’m good” but tonights dinner was one of those things.  I made chicken marsala, stuffed mushrooms, and my famous double chocolate cheesecake. I litterally have a food baby I ate so much (considently, my mom doesn’t find that phrase funny). I had some trouble finding the marsala. The two stores I went to didn’t have much choice, so I setteled on Versuni (? maybe thats the name? I don’t want to get up and look) which is a cheaper wine, but it makes a good chicken marsala. The stuffed mushrooms came about because I had extra fresh mushrooms from the marsala, so I whipped something up really fast. I’m making dinner tomorrow with the left over pasta, I have a few ideas, and I’m sure it’ll change a little before I start. It’s so good to not be bored with food again.

One of my friends (who is a chef) suggested that I start selling my food on the side, charge for ingridients first. I might do that, seeing as a lot of my friends like what I make. What do you guys think? How on earth would I get started? Help me out here.

Chicken Marsala
(orginally from 
http://blogchef.net/chicken-marsala-recipe/)

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 cup flour
1 tablespoon oregano
salt and pepper (to taste)
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
10 ounces fresh sliced mushrooms
4  garlic cloves (minced)
2 cups marsala wine
3 cups chicken stock
1 package linguini (cooked)

  1. 1 at a time, place chicken breasts between 2 sheets of wax paper (or plastic wrap). With a mallet pound chicken breasts until they are about ¼” thick. 
  2. On a plate combine flour, salt and pepper, and oregano. Dredge chicken breasts in flour until coated thoroughly.
  3. Heat olive oil and butter in a large skillet. Fry chicken breasts until they are almost fully cooked (about 3 minutes on each side). Remove from pan and keep warm in the oven at 175 degrees.
  4. Deglaze the pan with marsala wine. Make sure to scrape up all the brown bits on the bottom of the pan and mix them with the wine.
  5. Add chicken broth mushrooms and garlic. Cook on medium-high for 10 minutes or until the sauce has reduced by half. Add chicken breasts back to the pan and cook for another 10 minutes. The sauce should now have become somewhat thick. Serve on a bed of linguini.

Stuffed Mushrooms

Whole mushrooms, stemmed
Italian Styled Breadcumbs
Salt and pepper to taste
Parsley
Parmesean
Olive Oil

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and drizzle a baking sheet with olive oil
  2. Mix breadcrumbs, spices and cheese
  3. Put into mushrooms. Bake for 20 mins or until mushrooms are soft. Enjoy!
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

