Meat and potatoes

Posted on October 6, 2009. Filed under: Dining |

My mom is very traditional and picky in her eating. In my post yesterday I mentioned she wouldn’t eat the cream sauce I made for dinner last night. She also won’t eat Mexican, Orientle food of any kind, nuts, and broccoli. Oh, and salt.  When we were younger, we had to eat whatever my mom made, so I ate a lot of meat, potato and vegitable dinners. While I’m a fan of those, it wasn’t a lot of variaty. Tonight we had chuck roast in the crock pot, potatoes stewed with the chuck roast, and green beans. It was good, but I need something more.

I’ve always wondered why my eating habits aren’t more like my mothers; very picky and just a little bit conseritive. I’m pretty much the exact oposite though. I want to try all types of food and don’t mind being a little adventerous. Food has  alot of flavors and its crazy what you can do with it.

What’s your story? Conseritive? Liberal to a fault? Will eat ANYTHING?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Meat and potatoes”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

It’s all relative, isn’t it?
I think I’m pretty much in the middle. I don’t like some things, but I’m not too picky.
My mom only wants food that’s very….American? She likes Mexican and Italian food, but she doesn’t want any kind of fancy gourmet European stuff. Like roasted chicken with leeks and an orange glaze.
On the other hand, there’s Jean, who will eat pig’s feet and veal brains without hesitation, and without any kind of motivation such as a large monetary prize or escaping torture at the end of the meal.
That’s why I think I’m in the middle. Maybe I don’t like mushrooms, walnuts, coconut, asparagus, sausage, tapioca pudding, sauerkraut, rye bread, and other things, but at least I’ll try Indian food and things like crispy salmon and risotto with arugula and leeks. Mmmmmmm.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

