Ads: death to our brains

Posted on October 21, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

When I took theatre management this past spring, one of the things we talked about was advertising. We had a lenghty discussion on why some ads work and some don’t. One of the biggest conclusions the class came to was the more annoying the ad, the more likely we are to remember it. Take the new Taco Bell “black taco” ad. That is by far one of the more annoying ads I hear on the radio almost on a daily basis. Sadly though, because of it’s annoying nature, people remember it, and a lot of them try the “black taco” at least once. Another ad that I heard on my way into work today was the Dos XX’s beer commerical. Sure, I know what they’re getting at, but the James Bond thing is a bit over done, and it really doesn’t make me want to try the beer.

Another thing my class agreed on was companies only stick to advertising that works. So, no matter how annoying, poorly made, or bad the product might be, the truth is, enough people are trying the product because of this.

No, this really wasn’t completly a food posting, but it seems my food life has gotten borning again. With little money to go and try new places or buy fun ingredients for new dishes, it’s hard to get new things. Sometimes I live off strange thigns like hummus and crackers for days. No, I’m not joking.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

