The Epic

Posted on November 18, 2009. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , |

I have been wanting to make a deep dish pizza for a long time now, and today I actually was able to , it took all day, but it was worth it. I started at 9 am with making a tripple batch of the dough (which I found out, was WAY to much, not to worry, I made cheese filled mozzerlla breadsticks) which I let rise for about 3 hours. I then browned about 2 pounds of Italian sausage and pizza sauage with onions and garlic while I whipped up a lot of my pizza sauce. The crust was baked for 10 mintes at 450 before filling it with pizza sauce, sausage, and cheese, in layers. It then cooked in the oven again at 400 for another 35 minutes, but it should go in for 4o. The pizza was so filling my parents and I could only eat 1 piece each. It was the most epic thing I’ve ever made. I’m so proud of it.

EPIC

Pizza crust
1 ¼ cp warm water
1 pkg active dry yeast
1 tsp sugar
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp salt
3 ½ cp flour
2 tsp cornmeal

  1. Put ¼ cp warm water in bowl. Sprinkle yeast. Stir in sugar, let stand for 5 mins.
  2. Add remaining water, oil and salt. Stir in flour until dough pulls away from the bowl.
  3. Turn dough onto lightly floured surface. Kneed until smooth. Put dough in greased bowl and cover. Let rise until double.
  4. Divide dough in half, roll to fit 2 12 in pizza pans. Put dough on greased and corn mealed pans and bake for 10 mins in 450 oven.

Pizza sauce
1 clove garlic
1 tsp salt
1 can tomato paste
1 can tomato sauce
½ tsp sugar
1/8 tsp pepper
½ tsp oregano
1 tbsp olive oil
red pepper

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

