Applesauce!

Posted on January 10, 2010. Filed under: Deserts | Tags: , |

Tomorrow is tech for Three Pigs again, and one of my actors really wanted my white chocolate blondie muffins again, so I baked up a bunch of those for him. Now, today was the first day that I got to back in a long time, so I decided to look through my new baking cook books for a cookie recipe. I found a recipe for applesauce cookies that I thought looked good, so I started working on that. After that batter was finished, I tasted it and thought the texture was a little off, so I added oatmeal, something was still off, so I added more cinnamon and some nutmeg, and a little more applesauce. After a while I thought the dough had turned into more of a batter, and decided to make it into a bar cookie, with some crumble on top (it was either that or make a crust, I think I made the right decision.) So, here’s my recipe:

Applesauce Bars
1/2 cp butter
1/4 cp packed brown sugar
1 egg
2 cps flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2-1 tsp cinnaon
1/2 tsp baking soda
Pinch of salt
dash of nutmeg (probably 1/4 tsp)
1 1/2 cp applasauce
2 tbsp water
2 cps oatmeal (non instant)
Crumble:
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup sifted all-purpose flour (sift before measuring)
1/4 cup butter, room temperature
1 teaspoon cinnamon

  1. Preaheat the oven to 350
  2. Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg.
  3. In a seperate bowl, mix dry ingredients; add to butter mixture.
  4. Add applesauce and water, mix.
  5. Mix in oatmeal
  6. Pour into greased 9 x 13 pan and bake for 20 mins
  7. Make crumble topping and put on the bars as soon as they get out of the oven. Put pan back in the oven for a minute longer (ONLY A MINUTE)
  8. Let cool, cut and enjoy!
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

