Better food

Posted on March 24, 2010. Filed under: Dining |

I moved in with my friends Neil and Maureen at the begining of March. They’re both trying to lose weight for their wedding, and doing a good job at doing so. One of the things they like to eat a lot is home made chips and salsa or homemade pita chips and hummus. Before I had moved in with them, I hadn’t really had much home made tortilla chips. I think that is probably because I just really like the salt on the fried store baked chips. Now, however, the dinner of baked tortilla chips and salsa is one of my favorites. The best thing, I think, about making your own chips is that you can put whatever seasoning on them in the exact amount that you want. As long as you have a decently stocked kitchen, the sky is the limit. My personal favorite is a Chiplote copy cat; canola oil, koser salt and ground peppercorns (we don’t have any lime right now).

Home made chips are a lot more heathly in a bunch of ways. First, they’re just tortillas that have been baked. Tortillas (good ones) are healthy in themselves, so baking them doesn’t change that much. Second, as long as you use canola oil or another light oil like it, there isn’t much unhealthy to that. And thirdly, seasoning isn’t bad for you, as long as you don’t use too much salt.

I really like the fact that I have roommates that like cooking good food at home. Pretty much all of our meals are healthy and very light. And, we snack on a lot of popcorn. I really like popcorn. There is something about crunchy snacks that makes an afternoon or a movie wonderful. And before I start rambling about the wonder of snack food, I will go.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

