Microbrewery Love

Posted on April 3, 2010. Filed under: Dining | Tags: |

In an earlier post, I raved about the wonder of the brewpub, espically Three Floyd’s in Munster. This past Thursday my roommates took me to Shoreline Brewery in Michigan City. I had been there once before very breifly, but wasn’t really able to try much. This time, we were able to sample a bunch of the beers and their food. All three of us got their burger and I have to say it was one of the best burgers I have ever had. I got the 1/2 pound Angus beef cooked medium rare (the only way to have a burger in my opinion) with cheddar. It comes standard with fresh cut tomato and good lettuce on a soft pretzal bun. On the side of the burger, you have your choice of fresh cut fries, veggie chips, cottage cheese or potato salad. I decided to try the veggie chips, which is a mixture of Idaho potatos, zucchini (I think, I can’t remember) and sweet potatos sliced thinly and fried. I really liked the veggie chips, they were just the crunchie I needed with the thought of health.

Now, one does not go to the brewpub for the food alone. The beer is always the pull. One of the cool things about Shoreline is that they offer a sampler of the beers they have from light to dark. We got the sampler and tried all of those before ordereing some of our own. The first one I ordered was a raspberry beer, which I was expecting to be a lot like Leinie’s Berry Weis, but it turned out not to be. I personally couldn’t taste any of the fruit in the beer itself, but my roommate did, so she drank it and I drank hers (but I can’t remmeber what it was called, it was a light beer but very good). The second beer I tried was called the Froggy Loggy, a lager served in a wine glass. I really enjoyed that  beer. It was a sweet beer that was the perfect end to my meal.

I always like being able to try new things in the food and drink world, and being surrounded by so many unique places makes my life wonderful. While Indiana is not the most interesting state to live in, every once in a while you will find the most random place that excites the taste buds. There are many little places that you can walk into and be suprised by how wonderful the food is. My suggestion is to try something new, even if it may be a little scary. Thanks to one of the girls I work with, I just may try some sushi. She said that she was scared to try it herself until a friend took her, and she loves it; so I have a feeling I will be the same way. Why don’t you go try something you may not have, just to see, who knows, you may be suprised!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Microbrewery Love”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

I do not believe I’ve seen this depicted in such an informative way before. You actually have made this so much clearer for me. Thank you!


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Fooddays

    April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

