El Charro

Posted on April 6, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

My roommates took me to El Charro in Valparaiso this past weekend for some Mexican food. They had told me before that it was much better than Puerta’s in Muncie, but I was skeptical because Puerta’s is my most favorite Mexican food resturant ever. I have to say though, after eating there, El Charro is definatly one of my more favorite places to get Mexican.

As tradition, they serve unlimited chips and salsa. I believe the chips are fried in the store. They were good, I thought they could use some salt, but I didn’t add any because I’m trying to eat less of it. The salsa was a little spicy for my taste, but it had a lot of flavor so I was still able to enjoy it.

I tried their Enchilada’s Verdes. You get two enchiliadas covered in pork and verde sauce with refried beans, Mexican rice, lettuce, guacalome, tomatoe and sour cream.  I loved the taste of the verde sauce on the enchiladas, however, they we so filling I couldn’t finish them!

My only gripe with El Charro is that they did not have a great selection of margarittas. I rarely drink hard liquer anymore, but I do enjoy my margaritta. El Charro only really had one flavor, so I had Dos XX instead.

The resturant itself is in an old Burger King. It had the typical decoration of a Mexican place up here, but it was still comfortable and a very pleasant place to eat. If you are ever up in this area, you should check it out. El Charro is located on Lincolnway past downtown Valpo.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

