Huge Success!

Posted on June 15, 2010. Filed under: Appitizers, Deserts, Main Course | Tags: , , |

Today I made food in the largest porportion I’ve ever made before. I invited the whole company, and I think I had about 15 people show up (?), I’m honestly not to sure. The menu was as follows: pizza (I’ve posted the recipe on here before) spinach artichoke dip (be posting that below), Girideli chocolate cheesecake (posted already) and my famous mint chocolate chip cookies. After its all said and done, I got 5 pizzas out of my tripling the recipe, a giant cheese cake, 18 in I believe, a 9 x 13 in pan of artichoke dip, and about 8 dozen cookies. I was most proud about my scheduling of what I was making. I got up at 9, started the dough, went to the store, made the cheesecake at 12:30, prepped the dough at 1, started the cookies at 2, made the dip at 3:30, threw the pizzas in the oven at 4:45, and every thing was done before I told people to come, at 5:30.It was literally the first time I’ve been able to perfectly time out how I was making a meal, and I didn’t even plan it.

 Everything I made, with the exception of the spinach dip, had a specific recipe. For some reason, the only recipe for spinach dip that I have called for mayo. Now, I don’t know about you, but I don’t put mayo in anything that goes in the oven. It’s just not my thing. I figured, since I was changing one part of the recipe, I might as well change the rest of it a little bit. I’m posting what I did below, however, don’t expect any measurements because I guessed.

Spinach Artichoke Dip

3 pkg cream cheese
heavy whipping cream
1 can artichoke hearts
freash spinach
Basil (to taste)
Parsley (to taste)
Salt (to taste)
mozzerella
parmesean cheese

  1. Heat cream cheese and whipping cream until easy to stir
  2. Stir in the rest of the ingredients and spread in a 9 x 13 pan.
  3. Bake in a 350 degree oven covered for 50 minutes
  4. Uncover and sprinkle parmesean cheese on top, bake for another 10 minutes.
  5. Serve with pita chips, or cocktail breads

I was thinking, while going on my baking/cooking binge, the reason why I like cooking for other people so much. I think it goes along with why I like giving people presents. Everyone I cook for is always so appreciative, happy, and LOVES my cooking. It’s something that I don’t get in other parts of my life, so it feels awesome. Sure, I am pretty good at cooking and baking, but it’s so reassuring to know that other people really like my food. The first time I made the mint chocolate chip cookies for people at Bdubs, one of the bar tenders said I should sell them. I hope that the more I get into my career that I can keep baking and giving the food to my friends, it’s such a stress reliever. Why do YOU bake?

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    June 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

