Accidential Veggiterian?

Posted on July 27, 2010. Filed under: Dining | Tags: |

When I was younger, aka before college, I had meat at least once, maybe twice a day. I love the stuff. There’s something about a medium rare burger, or a juicy chicken breast that is just fantastic. But, once I got to college and had to buy my own food, things started changing. Meat, at least the good stuff, is expensive and you NEED to have time to cook it. I went from having meat every day to every other day, to once a week, maybe even less than that. Because of that, I’ve come to love all different types of veggitables and ways to prepare them. On the other end though, I’m pretty sure I’m a little low on iron because I’m always so tired.

I’ve been out in the real world for a little over  a year now and have been making enough money to actually buy meat, but now, I just forget about it most of the time. I do, however, get lots of cravings for meat. It doesn’t happen every day, however, but when I get a craving, its all I think about.  I think it’s my body’s way of saying “hey, gimme some iron!”. I don’t have a problem with it, unless I start craving McDonald’s…gross.

I’m  not the only one of my friends who are in the same boat. In fact, a lot of my friends who aren’t actual veggiterians say they often just forget to eat meat. Society today has changed so much that meat sometimes is almost taboo. 60 years ago everyone people were eating so much meat they couldn’t get enough. Now, many people try not to eat meat at all. There’s nothing really wrong with it, just as long as they’re getting everything else they need from what they eat. I just find it funny because I’ve somehow become one of those without meaning to. No, I’m not turning complelty veggiterian, I love burgers to much, but I also really like veggitables so there’s no problem.

What about you? Are you in the same boat? Do you even care? My guess…probably not!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

