Amish Country = Food Coma

Posted on August 3, 2010. Filed under: Dining | Tags: |

At OLO, there are only 2 full company days off that the tech staff has off to. Last week, we went canoing. This week, we visited Amish Country. Our first stop was Heinie’s Cheese Chatle. I’ve never had actual hand made Amish Cheese before this summer, and let me say, I was in heaven. They had samples of pretty much every type of cheese they had, and that only helped me buy more. You’ve never had cheese until you’ve had fresh made cheese. There is nothing better. I spent $30 on cheese, one jar of apple butter, and some spiced apple slices. I almost bought a $5 bottle of peppermint, but I couldn’t bring myself to spend any more money. It was a struggle, let me say.

We then went to the Amish Door. I got their turky with sweet potato fries and a salad. It was some of the best turkey I’ve ever had. It was jucy and perfectly flavored. The sweet potato fries were some of the best that I’ve had, and the dipping sauce made them even better. It also came with stuffing, which I’m not a huge fan of in general, but it was still amazing. For dessert, I had a fresh peach pie, which was again, some of the best I’ve ever had.

I don’t know what it is about Amish cooking, but everything just seems so much better. I really want to learn how to cook like them, but I have a feeling that wouldn’t be possible. The best I can do is to find cook books that have been published about Amish cooking and just keep trying. It’s really exciting to even think about it, their food is so good!!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

