Summer Pie!

Posted on August 31, 2010. Filed under: Deserts | Tags: , , , |

It’s been a while since I’ve gotten to make anything; I’ve either been way to busy or way to tired. Yesterday I had a day off and decided to be productive. I really wanted to make a pie, but I wasn’t sure what kind of pie to make, so I asked my roommates. Maureen suggested I make a key lime pie. I never made key lime pie, so I thought I’d give it a go. To go with the pie, I wanted to make some margaritas to go with, so I found a pineapple one.

While looking for ingredients at the store, Neil suggested I buy fres limes that we could juice because it’s ceaper and would taste better. For some reason, I thought I needed 3 1/2 cups of lime juice, so I got 5 bags of limes. When I got home and looked at the recipe again, I realized I only really needed 1 1/2 cup of lime juice..so I’m going to need some recipes with limes!

The pie turned out great. Neil didn’t have a juicer, so at first he decided to put a full bag of limes in the blender then strain the juice. That really didn’t work because we only got 1/2 cup of juice out of that bag. We hand squeezed the rest of the limes and got the other cup out of just one bag. I kept some of the lime puree and put about a 1/4 of it in the filling mixture. I also (thanks to Neil’s suggestion) added some lime zest to the crust before pouring the filling on.  The recipe said it was for a 9 in pie pan, but I got more filling than that. Luckily we have some mini pyrex dishes that we could put in the oven, so there are 2 mini pies. I may have whipped the cream to much, but it didn’t seem to matter, it was just very fluffy, with a hint of orange.

The margaritas were good, but I couldn’t find the agave necter in the store, so they weren’t as sweet as they could have been, but they were very good all the less, and VERY strong. We also discovered that one of the cats really likes pineapple juice, he wouldn’t leave me alone! Even now he keeps trying to drink my plain pineapple juice; that’s not good for cats, is it?

Cashew Crusted Key Lime Pie with a Whipped Cream Fruit Coulis
Courtesy Of: Cruisin’ the Keys, FL
http://foodnetwork.mobi/quickPage.html?page=24236&cc=recipeDetails.html%3Frid%3D26464%26tn%3D%26p%3Ds%26s%3D10%26kw%3Dkey%2Blime%2Bpie%26rs%3D


2 cups very finely chopped cashews 
1 cup finely ground graham cracker crumbs 
1/2 cup plus 2 ounces sugar 
3/4 cup melted butter 
3 cups sweetened condensed milk 
9 egg yolks 
1 1/2 cups Key lime juice 
2 cups heavy cream 
1 orange, zested

 

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.
  2. Grease a 9-inch pie pan and set aside. In a small bowl, mix together the cashews, graham cracker crumbs, 1/2 cup sugar, and the melted butter (you may choose to process the cashews and graham crackers in a food processor to finely grind them). Press crumb mixture into the bottom and sides or pie pan.
  3. In a medium mixing bowl, combine the sweetened condensed milk and egg yolks until smooth, mixing either by hand or with an electric mixer. Slowly add the Key lime juice and mix to incorporate. Pour into the unbaked crust and bake for 50 minutes or until center is set. Cool pie to room temperature; then refrigerate for several hours.
  4. When pie is cool, make the whipped topping. In the bowl of an electric mixer, whip the heavy cream, orange zest, and remaining 2 ounces of sugar until it has reached the consistency of whipped cream. Spread whipped topping evenly over the cooled pie. The pie can be served immediately or allowed to set before serving.

Pineapple-Chili Margaritas
Courtesy Of: Food Network Kitchens
http://foodnetwork.mobi/quickPage.html?page=24236&cc=recipeDetails.html%3Frid%3D455088%26tn%3D%26p%3Ds%26s%3D0%26kw%3DMargarita%26rs%3D


 

Wet the rim of 4 short glasses and dip in a mixture of 2 tablespoons coarse salt and 1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder. Fill a cocktail shaker two-thirds of the way with ice. Add 1 cup tequila, 1 cup pineapple juice, 1/2 cup fresh lime juice and 11/2 tablespoons agave nectar. Shake well, then strain into the glasses.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Summer Pie!”

RSS Feed for Ramblings of the Culinary Addicted Comments RSS Feed

Sooooo delicious! You are an awesome cook roomie! 😀 And we found out Leo likes pineapple juice…very strange.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • Fooddays

    August 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

