Eating out!

Posted on October 24, 2010. Filed under: Dining |

It’s been a while since I’ve reviewed anything, and I’ve been to two new resturants!! 

The first place I went was Parea. It just opened up in June on Indiana drive in Valpo. My friend Katie came to hang out on a day off, and I had been wanting to try it for a while, so we went there. The resturant itself is very nicely decorated. It doesn’t open until 3 everyday, however, so you can really only get dinner or a late lunch. The prices were a little high, so we both got sandwiches. Katie got a philly cheesesteak, and I got a burger with cheddar and a side of mixed greens. Katie’s philly cheesesteak came with brocoli on it, which we thought was a little weird, but she didn’t seem to think it was so bad. Either the waitress or the kitchen forgot to put the cheese on my burger, so I had them put it on. While I was waiting, I started on my salad. I was going strong until I found a lettuce leaf with a fly stuck on it. I wasn’t going to say anything, but the fly kept staring at me, so I did. They ended up taking all of my food off of the bill, so I only got charged for beer. The burger was very good, it was tender and juicy. Even though there were problems with my meal, I would suggest going back. The resturant was clean, so it probably wasn’t a common occurance.

The next place I went to was Pestos. Matt and I went there before a trip to Chicago this past Thursday. I had tried some of their food at Matt, Ashely, Carrie and Krystal’s birthday party, so I had been wanting to actually go and try them. Matt and I looked at the menu online before heading to the resturant. They have such and extensive menu that neither of us could pick out one thing we wanted. We both took  a long time while at the resturant deciding on what we wanted to eat. I decided on their special of the day, pan seared scallops with …( I forgot the name of the beef) wrapped aspargas and lobster and cheese ravoli covered in a lemon cream sauce, and Matt got their parmeasean encrusted filet, served with aspargas and mashed potatoes. We both got salads as our side, I had creamy garlic dressing and Matt got creamy basil dressing. For an appitizer, we got fried mozzerella, and the bread that came with the meals. The fried mozzerella was actual pieces of mozerella that they had battered and fried, they were fantastic. The bread was still warm when they brought it to the table. The garlic dressing tasted a little like mayo, but it was still very good. Both of our main entrees were very large. I must have had 8 or more scallops and a lot of ravoli. It may have been the best thing I have ever tried. I got to try a piece of Matt’s filet. It was the best piece of steak I had ever tried. It literally melted in my mouth. If you have never been there, you should go. Pestos is located on Calumet Ave in Valpo.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    October 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

