If I Could Only do a Food Tour

Posted on November 28, 2010. Filed under: Dining |

The first actual stop on our tour is New Haven, CT. New Haven is known for being the home to Yale, and the home to Louis’ Lunch, the birthplace of the hamburger. We arrived in New Haven on Friday afternoon and had to do one show. The musicians decided to try The Ancor, a small bar about a block away from the Omni. The place itself was very old, and at that time of the day, not crowded. We were probally one of 3 tables there, but you could tell the place got busy at night.

Our waitress (the only one working there) was either just a space case or VERY hung over. I’m going with hung over because it was the day after Thanksgiving. Sam and Matt both got the chili dogs, the chilli came on the side (weird), Steve got the chicken fingers, and I got the open faced tuna melt. Everyone enjoyed their food. My only complaint about the tuna melt was that the tuna itself was cold, but it was still very tasty.

Last night after the show, a bunch of us hit up the Wicked Wolf, which is on Temple St right across from the Omni Hotel where we’re staying. I ended up having only one beer there, but I sprang for a micro brew. I got the Kona Beer made with Kona coffee. It had a Guiness flavor with a very smooth ending. If it didn’t cost $5, I probably would’ve gotten another one.

Today I really wanted to go to Louis’ Lunch, the home of the hamburger. I was actually really excited to go there, because it was open until 2 am so I could go after a show. Mike decided to come with me, so we headed the 3 blocks on Chaple to the place that has been in the same spot since 1895. Sadly, they took a very long Thanksgiving break and won’t be open again until Tuesday, so I just took a picture. We went across the street to Aladdian Pizza (I think that’s the whole name). I got a cheese and brocoli stromboli, which was pretty tasty, and Mike got a lamb kabob. I  really wish we had more time here to go….

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    November 2010
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

