That Felt AWESOME

Posted on January 18, 2011. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: |

I finally got to cook dinner for the roomies (and Matt, but he’s at work so his is in the fridge) and I had a lot of fun. (Yea, I said it, fun).  I made what I told you earlier, broccoli and cheddar/colby stuffed chicken with a side of mixed greens with a garlic vingerette dressing and honeyed pears in puffed pastry. I used a recipe for the pears that I mentioned in an old post, Got That Itch, and the chicken I just winged it. The hardest part of the whole thing was the shopping. I had the correct amounts for the pears because I was following a recipe, but I was guessing for the chicken and bought WAY to much. Like 2.5 pounds of cheese, and 3 large globes of broccoli (fresh is better!) The vanilla bean for the pears was suprisingly hard to find. I finally found one bean in a small glass jar that cost me upwards of $10. (Sadly, that’s not the most expensive spice I’ve bought, that goes to the ground cardamon I bought for Matt’s soup, that was almost $13 for a small bottle). With all of that, here’s how to make the chicken!

Broccoli and Cheese Stuffed Chicken

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
1 globe fresh broccoli
1/2 pound mixed cheddar and colby
Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Wrap each chicken breast in plastic wrap, or wax paper, and flatten with a meat cleaver (or a rolling pin, because that’s what we have)
  2. Chop the broccoli into small pieces and steam.
  3. Grate and mix cheese in a bowl, mix broccoli in.
  4. Put a generous amount of the broccoli and cheese mixture in the middle of each flattened breast, roll up and place in a 9 x 13 lined pan. Sprinkle salt and pepper on the top.
  5. If you have any extra broccoli and cheese mix, place a small amount of top of the chicken.
  6. Bake at 425 for 20-25 minutes or until the thickest piece of chicken is cut through (make a small cut through the largest part and see if it’s pink or not).
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

