This is why I make my own snacks

Posted on March 15, 2011. Filed under: Appitizers | Tags: , |

As most of you know, I’m a big fan of chips and dip, whether it be guacmole, salsa, spinach dip…the list goes on. But, there is a big difference from something that I can make myself compared to something I can buy from a store. Salsa is one thing, its a very easy dip to make and store bought ones are still pretty tasty. Making salsa at home is more of a health thing, because then you and pick the best ingredients. Guacmole and spinach dip, on the other hand, are different stories. Home made guacmole is possibly the best thing ever, I can’t bring myself to buy a jar of it when I’m at the store.I’m not sure how anyone can really, but that’s just me. The biggest difference between home made and store bought is spinach dip. I’ve tried the dip from the store, and its just not the same. Last night (in the middle of a very nerdy cafe world game…don’t judge!) I decided to make my own. I started with a recipe I got from food network, but I just used the general ingredient list.

Spinach Dip
1/2 pound fresh spinach, chopped
2 cans artichoke hearts, drained
1/2 tsp lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp worstishire sauce
1 cup sour cream
1 1/2 cp whole milk
salt and pepper to taste
1 1/2 cp shredded white cheddar
1/2 cp parmesean
1/2 onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, chopped
2 tbsp butter
2 tsp flour

  1. Melt butter in a pan, add onion and garlic and cook until the onions are soft. Add flour, coating the onion mix and cook until lightly brown.
  2. Add milk, lemon juice, and worsthire sauce, constantly mixing until thick.
  3. Remove from heat and add the spinach, artichokes, sour cream and parmeasen, mixing until incorporated.
  4. Return to heat and add cheddar, salt and pepper, mixing until the cheddar is mixed.
  5. Serve with tortilla chips, bagel chips, or eat with a spoon! (kidding on the last one…)
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

