MMMmmmmmm Ice Cream

Posted on May 31, 2011. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , |

While traveling from my little brother’s graduation party in Lafayette, I talked my parents into stopping at Fair Oaks Farms. My mom had been claiming that I’d already been there with them, but there’s no way I would forget going to a place like that. I’ve had their cheese many times, thanks to Wise Way stocking it, but I’ve never had their ice cream and I’d never been there. We stopped and mom and I got ice cream while dad got some aged gouda and cheddar (two seperate blocks of cheese mind you). My mom got one of her standards, mint chocolate chip, and I got strawberry. Now, thanks to having Gaitey’s Ice cream, I’ve had home made ice cream before. This was not only home made, but fresh to. They could have just made it that morning with the fresh strawberries, it was so good.I only had two scoops, but it was probably a good idea because it melted quicker than processed ice cream (no preservatives). If you get a chance and you’re traveling on 65, stop in. They close at 9 pm every night and you can get a lot of things besides cheese and ice cream, such as fresh sandwiches and soups, and a bunch of little souvenirs. If you have kids, they have a tour of the farm and you get to see the birth of a calf (we didn’t do that). And if you can’t stop in, go buy some of their cheese at the grocery store, the price is worth what you get.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

