Good Japanese in Nebraska?

Posted on November 20, 2011. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , |

I love Asian food. It is one of my most favorite things to eat. It is so much more healthy than other foods if done correctly. Normally I have Chinese food, mainly because that is what around in NW Indiana. Tonight, the clarinet player, Kate, and I went to dinner. I let her pick because she is vegetarian and I eat pretty much everything.  She decided on a Japanese place called Sakura Bana, mainly because it was a lot closer than her other choice and we were walking. (It’s very cold and windy right now in Omaha.)

I decided to go out on a limb and try something different, something that I would normally be afraid of. They had different dinner boxes that were full of different items. I decided on a box that came with terakyi salmon, tempora, an inside out California roll, orange, rice, salad AND miso soup. That’s a lot of food, and the box only cost $17. The first thing I tried in the box was the salmon. It was sweet and just fell apart so easily. It was like no other salmon I had ever tried. If I could box it up and take it with me everywhere, I would. Next I tried the tempora. It came with 4 pieces, I had 2 shrimp, one carrot (deep fried carrot? oh yes) and one onion ring. I had never had tempora before and was surprised at how light the breading was. Normally fried food for me is very heavy and fills me up very quickly, but not this. The carrot was a welcome surprise because it tasted very good. The California roll was my second piece of sushi I had ever tried in my life. Sushi has always scared me because of the raw fish, but California rolls don’t have fish, they have avacodo and cream cheese. I LOVED it. They had so much flavor in the little bits that I couldn’t stop eating.We were going to get the mango roll for dessert, but we were both so full that we just couldn’t. I hope I can go there one more time before we get on the road, just to get the mango roll!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

