I love non Chained Resturants!

Posted on November 29, 2011. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , , |

So, we finally got on the road, which does mean rest stops with chain restaurants. But, whenever I can, I like to go to the small places. Saturday night we were in Red Bank, NY and our Christmas Past from last year, Chrysten, and her boyfriend came to visit. We were trying to figure out where to eat and decided on an Italian place called Burtuchi’s (I think…) across the street from the hotel. It’s probably a chain, but I’ve never heard of it so I was down. I decided on a brick oven pizza verde. This was my first non-traditional American Pizza. All it had on it was mozzerella, proschetto, arugula and a basalmic drizzel. That was it. And it was fantastic. That small list of ingredients mixed together to make an amazing flavor. I want to make it at home, but I need a brick oven. I’ve wanted one for a while anyway, lets be honest.

Sunday night I was craving a margarita and I discovered what I thought was a Mexican place 5 mins away from our hotel. It turned out to be more of a Creole place, and google maps just lied to me, but we ate there anyway. I got some crawfish mac and cheese. It was a pretty simple baked macaroni, but I loved it. You could tell it wasn’t boxed, that it had been home made. I ate all of it and never looked back. Really, the only problem with that place was that it was VERY expensive, as in I paid $10 for a mixed drink expensive. But it was worth it, it was the start to a very fun night.

We’re in York, PA for a couple of days, and I’m pretty psyced to see all of the cool places we can eat while we’re here. I love traveling.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

