That Feels MUCH Better!

Posted on January 7, 2012. Filed under: Deserts | Tags: , , |

I didn’t get to cook over tour. Which would’ve been fine, except my roommate and I watched a lot of food network. A lot. Pretty much every night. I would always get inspired to make something and wasn’t ever able to go down to the kitchen to make anything.

I got back from tour a few days before Christmas, and I still haven’t been able to cook anything. I have been working quite a lot, and after work at 2 in the morning, I don’t want to cook. I am lucky that Matt loves to cook to, so he has cooked a lot for me in the past few weeks. But I’ve been aching to make something. My problem is that Matt is a little picky. He has a long list of things that he doesn’t like. I always want to make something that he will eat to, even though he tells me to make whatever I want to.

A week ago or so, Matt and I were in Bed Bath and Beyond and I wanted to get some baking gadget. I settled on a cupcake plunger:

Cupcake Plunger

I really have been wanting to use it, and last night after watching Sherlock Holmes with Matt, my roommates and friend Shawn, I decided to make cupcakes. I dragged Matt to the store at 10 at night throwing ideas at him that I thought sounded good. I threw around chocolate cake with peanut butter frosting stuffing, or strawberry cupcake with strawberry stuffing, nothing sounded good to him.

I decided to pumpkin cupcake with cream cheese frosting stuffing. I had actually tried a cupcake similar to that when in York, PA. They called it a pumpkin roll cupcake, so I went for it. I knew it was going to be good, but I didn’t know how good until Matt ate 4, and Neil and Maureen had 2 each. I’ve always said, you know something you make is delicious when everyone goes back for thirds. I only had one myself, but that was because I wasn’t feeling to well (it’s worse now, but lets not talk about that). There are only 3 cupcakes left out of the dozen batch, I’d say it is a success!

Delicious!

Don't you want one?

Pumpkin Cupcake
(from http://southernfood.about.com/od/pumpkins/r/bl40104c.htm)

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour, sift before measuring
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/3 cups sugar
2 eggs, beaten until frothy
1 cup mashed cooked or canned pumpkin
3/4 cup milk
3/4 cup chopped walnuts or pecans

  1. Sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg into a bowl.
  2. Cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy; beat in eggs. Blend in mashed pumpkin.
  3. Stir in the sifted dry ingredients alternately with the milk, blending until batter is smooth after each addition; stir in chopped walnuts or pecans. Spoon batter into well-greased and floured or paper-lined muffin pan cups. Fill about 2/3 full.
  4.  Bake at 375° for 25 minutes, or until a wooden pick or cake tester inserted in center comes out clean.
  5. Let cupcakes cool, prepare cream cheese frosting, plunge the middle of cupcakes.

Cream Cheese Frosting

1 – 8 oz block cream cheese
1/2 cp powdered sugar
1 tbsp vanilla
pinch of cinnamon and nutmeg

  1. Cream cheese and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add in vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. Insert into pumpkin cupcakes or spread on your favorite treat.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

