Success!!

Posted on January 10, 2012. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , |

I’ve always wanted to make pasta from scratch. But then, problems always arrive. I never had time, I didn’t have the space, don’t have a pasta machine, ect. Last night, I decided to do it. I had everything but the pasta machine. But who needs a pasta machine? That’s not how they did it when pasta was invented, it should be easy…right? Well, making the dough was easy, rolling it out was hard. Pasta dough is very stiff, so it takes a lot of pressure to roll it out. I made three double batches that I continued to think I hadn’t gotten enough  because it was much to think. Despite all of that, it turned out delicious, especially with my home made sauce. I think I’ll wait until I get a pasta machine (even though Matt says I would only use it for two weeks).

Basic Pasta Dough
(from http://allrecipes.com/recipe/basic-pasta/detail.aspx)

1 egg, beaten
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup flour
2 tbsp water

  1. In a bowl, mix flour and sat. Make a well in the flour, add  egg and mix. The dough should be stiff. If it is not, add water, 1 tbsp at a time.
  2. Knead on a floured surface for 3 -4 minutes. Roll out to desired length and cut into desired sizes. I made squares.
  3. Add to a pot of boiling water and cook until floating. Serve with your favorite sauce.

Red Pasta Sauce
1 sweet viadlia onion
6 cloves garlic
6 whole tomatoes, chopped and crushed
2 cans of tomato sauce, not flavored
fresh basil and orgeno
salt, pepper and sugar to taste

  1. In a large pot, sautee onion and garlic until fragrent, just with a pinch of salt and pepper.
  2. Add tomatoes and cook for another 2 minutes. Add the sauce, and spices and let simmer. The sauce will cook down over about a half hour. Make sure to taste it to make sure it is good. Add more desired spices if needed. Serve with your favorite pasta.
  3. A
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

