Tech Diet!

Posted on March 22, 2012. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , , |

As some of you know, I’m a stage manager. Tech for us is the most busy and stressful. Lots of long hours, and for me, tons of caffeine. In fact, my diet changes so much I’ve already lost 2 pounds since Monday. I normally find a coffee shop near my theatre to grab my life juice and a snack from. Luckily for me, the shop near this theatre is right across the street. Zanabar is located on Bryn-Mwr in Edgewater, on the north side of Chicago.

I went there my first day there because my boss wasn’t there to let me in, so my assistant and I went there and grabbed some coffee and a sandwich. I got a large cup of red eye (don’t judge, it was a LONG weekend before that) and their veggie sandwich (name eludes me right now). I love espresso, but I always have to add a lot of milk and sugar because of how bitter is, but this was a good cup of red eye. The sandwich was really good. It was simple, just hummus, peppers, artichokes and cucumbers. My favorite part of the sandwich was the artichokes. I’ve had a lot of different veggie sandwiches but never with artichokes. Artichokes have such a light sweet flavor that they can go in a lot of different things, like my  spinach dip, but they are really perfect with some hummus on a sandwich.

Zanzibar doesn’t just have coffee and sandwiches. They also have desserts. I’ve eyed the pastries and cakes a few times, and have been tempted to get the ice cream, but always passed. Yesterday, my boss offered to buy the tech guy and me some ice cream. She’s pregnant and can’t have caffine, so she figured the sugar would give her some energy. Makes sense to me. I told her to surprise me, and she came back with Zanzi-mint for me. Now, besides cookie dough, mint chip ice cream is my favorite. Not only did it have the mint ice cream with the chocolate chips, it had dark chocolate ice cream to. It was probably the best ice cream I’ve had in a while. It was so creamy and smooth and had a great flavor.

Prices are also pretty good. Most people think Chicago, they think expensive. But, my red eye I get is $2.65 after tax and the sandwich I bought the first day was $7.50. You could go to other places and get the same thing and pay a lot more.

I’m not sure if this is a Chicago chain or not, but you should check it out. It’s so much nicer than a large chain, and besides, going to local places helps the economy and you generally get better food and service. Check it out when you come to see my show next week! (March 25-28, Landmark Festival by Prologue at the City Lit Theatre, be there!)

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

