Eeeggggggsssilent

Posted on March 23, 2012. Filed under: Breakfast, Main Course | Tags: , , , |

Every once in a while, probably for about a week or two, I eat eggs pretty much every day. It’s not planned or anything, I just wake up one day wanting eggs, so I make a lot of egg dishes. Luckily, eggs are very versatile and you can do a lot with them. Earlier on the week I made eggs in a basket (Matt insists on calling them Toad in a hole) with whole wheat bagels instead of bread. Why? Cause the idea popped into my head and that was all I could think of, that, and I had no actual bread.

The other day I saw a picture of some fried eggs on a tortilla, and thought that was good. Yesterday I bought pita to make a sandwich, and decided to try the same with pita bread. The result was pretty delicious. The only thing I would have changed would be to not use so much olive oil when I toast the pita, the bread soaks up a LOT. I ended up pulling some out with paper towels. I also had the pan too hot, and my over easy eggs quickly had to turn  into scrambled, but that ended up working out better. Enjoy!

Eggs on Pita

1 pita bread
Olive Oil
Small handful fresh mushrooms
2 eggs
Handful of fresh spinach
Feta Cheese
Salt and pepper

  1. Heat a skillet with some olive oil to medium high heat. Toast the pita on both sides until dark brown.
  2. Saute the mushrooms in the same skillet, and top the pita.
  3. Cook the eggs however you like,  I suggest fried or scrambled, don’t forget salt and pepper!. Top the pita with the eggs, handful of spinach and feta cheese. Eat it with a fork or knife, or squish it up into a sandwich.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

