Thank you, pregnant friends!

Posted on March 27, 2012. Filed under: Deserts | Tags: , , |

I never thought I’d EVER say that. But, right now I’m surronded by quite a few pregnant women. My friend Martha gave birth over a month ago, my friend Paul’s wife a few weeks ago, one of my managers at bdubs and my boss here at Prologue are both pregnant. My boss at Prologue has been craving a lot of sweets, and I’m telling her that baby is going to end up a baker. Anyway, I had been planning on making a cherry pie for one of the plays in the festival because it is called Cherry Pie is Red. Well, the director said they didn’t need one, but I figured I could still make one for the cast party. I decided I was going to make mini ones to promote easy eating. I was talking to Cathy, my pregnant Bdubs manager the other day, and she mentioned something covered in chocolate, and it hit me. Chocolate covered cherries are good. Pies are good. Mini pies are easy to eat. Why not put the pies in the chocolate? It would be perfect. I haven’t tasted them yet, but they LOOK perfect.

Something I learned pretty quickly today, and yesterday when I was making the pies, is that the size doesn’t mean the pies are going to only take 10 minutes. I ended up baking these little buggers for about 30-35 minutes each before they would cook all the way through. I also learned to make sure to put butter in the chocolate when you’re melting it on the stove or it will seize up and turn into a frosting. Freezing the pan will help you get the pies out, but don’t you dare use a regular size muffin pan or they will be VERY HARD to get out. I’m a little worried because before I dipped them in chocolate, the crust was a little dry, I’m hoping the chocolate helps with the dryness. I also had run out of granulated sugar, so I substituted brown sugar, and the flavor didn’t change a bit.

I’d put a recipe on here, but its straight forward. Use your favorite pie crust recipe (or store bought, but I’m old school) cut to fit the mini muffin tins, I used a wine glass because I don’t seem to have round cookie cutters, fill with your favorite filling, in this case cherry, top with more crust, and bake at 375 for about 30 minutes. When they are done, let them cool before taking them out of the pan. Melt chocolate and butter in a double boiler, I used part dark and part light chocolate, and dip the pies in it, covering them. Store in the fridge until chocolate hardens. That’s it. It is that easy. You should try to make some at home.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

