Our Own Chopped

Posted on March 30, 2012. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , |

I love food. You almost can’t tell though, because it seems I’m never eating anymore, not really by choice but just because I don’t have time to. Even more than food, I love cooking and baking, in case you couldn’t tell. It’s been a passion of mine since I was young. I used to watch my mom make dinner and dessert and help her. My first baking experience on my own ended up with flour all over the kitchen. It was also the only time I didn’t have to clean it up; my dad thought I would get overwhelmed with the mess.

As great of a cook as my mom is, she is on the picky side. She would never make anything she didn’t like, except for broccoli. Broccoli is one of my dad’s favorite vegetables, so we would get that from time to time, which was awesome because it is one of my favorites as well. Because of my mom’s limited cooking, I ended up wanting to make and try everything. It started small with Long John Silvers (mom hates fish) and Taco Bell (and Mexican food…) and has ended in me just trying anything that will taste good. Most of the time, I’ve liked what I’ve made, but you can’t be perfect.

One of my favorite shows as of late is Chopped. I’ve talked about it before. Its where four chefs are given four secret ingredients that they have to use. They have three rounds, appetizer, main course, and dessert. That ends up in 16 different secret ingredients to make some amazing sounding dishes. Matt and I had been talking about doing that, just to clean out the cabinets. Last night, after watching about five episodes of Chopped, we decided to do a main course version. Matt chose for me, pinwheel pasta, Italian bread, smoked sausage and…raisnettes. What I came up with was pretty delicious.

Image

What I made was a smoked sausage sandwich with a spicy chocolate raisin sauce and siracha mayo with a side of pesto pinwheel pasta. Both Matt and I had seconds and there is still some in the fridge.What would you make with those ingredients?

 

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

