An Ode to Siracha

Posted on May 8, 2012. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , |

Growing up with a picky mother ends up being difficult in the food area. My first Mexican food was Taco Bell in high school. I only had fish when we went to buffets until almost college. I only got broccoli because my dad loves it. So, for the longest time, I was afraid to try anything spicy. Everything I had tried before was just way to hot for me. I shied away from pretty much everything, including peppers for the longest time.

However, my inabilitlity to try a lot of foods while younger has given me a curiosity. What threw that into actually trying things was watching a lot of Chopped and Iron Chef. Those and Restaurant impossible are the only shows I really watch on Food Network, I can’t stand the day time “housewives, here’s how you cook pasta” shows. The reason why they have pushed me into trying so many different things is that they show me how to cook things that don’t seem to go together or make things the normal person wouldn’t try.

Cut back to spicy food. I was scared to DEATH of trying siracha. To me, that sounded super spicy. A few weeks ago, Neil made some cheesy rice and was putting siracha on it, so I decided to try it. It was so perfect. I’ve become addicted, I made it two days in a row. I also got really adventurous and made a siracha mayo which is perfect because the mayo brings down the spice.

Tomorrow we’re trying the Dark Lord. That’s right, the famous Dark Lord. I’m excited. So excited, I’m making awesome sandwiches to go with it. I’m making beer bread, marinated steak sandwiches with some siracha mayo. If I had time, I’d make some beer mustard, but I don’t because I have to work tonight and that’s a two day process. I can’t wait, I’m so nerdily excited.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    May 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

