I Love Having Great Ideas!

Posted on May 10, 2012. Filed under: Breads, Deserts, Main Course | Tags: , , |

One of my friends asked me the other day where I get all my recipes. Without thinking I said “I make them up” Then caught myself. While I don’t make up a lot of the recipes I use, I do come up with ideas that people normally wouldn’t put together. I blame that on Chopped, but I could go into that for hours again.

Neil and Maureen were lucky enough to go to Dark Lord Day and we wanted to try the beer last night. I decided to come up with a beer centered meal. I came up with a steak sandwich using home made beer bread and for dessert an ice cream float that goes along with the flavors of Dark Lord. The result was, in a word, amazing. The only thing that didn’t work out amazingly was that the bread was soft, almost to soft for the sandwich. The flavors were there, and to keep it from being to sweet, I made my siracha mayo and some spinach to add some crunch and a little kick to the sandwich.

I do want to take a second and talk about the Dark Lord. The description says it has the consistency of motor oil, and they weren’t lying. The beer was dark and looked like oil. I could taste the chocolate and the coffee, at the end. The beginning was almost a kick to the face. I loved the after taste, it was just very hard to get past the beginning. I like darker beers, but that one was much to dark for me.

Steak Marinade
(From http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Best-Steak-Marinade-in-Existence/Detail.aspx)

1/3 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup olive oil
1/3 cup fresh lemon juice1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
1 1/2 tablespoons garlic powder
3 tablespoons dried basil
1 1/2 tablespoons dried parsley flakes
1 teaspoon ground white pepper1/4 teaspoon hot pepper sauce (optional)
1 teaspoon dried minced garlic (optional)

  1. Place the soy sauce, olive oil, lemon juice, Worcestershire sauce, garlic powder, basil, parsley, and pepper in a blender. Add hot pepper sauce and garlic, if desired. Blend on high speed for 30 seconds until thoroughly mixed.
  2. Pour marinade over desired type of meat. Cover, and refrigerate for up to 8 hours. Cook meat as desired.

 

Beer Bread
(From http://www.farmgirlfare.com/2005/11/beyond-easy-beer-bread.html)

3 cups  all-purpose flour
1 Tablespoon granulated sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt

2 Tablespoons chopped fresh dill (or 2 teaspoons dried)
1 cup finely grated sharp cheddar cheese
12 ounces beer (I used Founder’s Porter)

Optional glaze: 1 egg & 2 teaspoons water, beaten

  1. Heat the oven to 375°. Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, dill, and cheddar in a large mixing bowl. Slowly stir in the beer and mix just until combined. The batter will be thick.
  2. Spread in a greased8-inch loaf pan, brush with the egg glaze if desired, and bake until golden brown and a toothpick stuck in the center comes out clean, about 45 minutes.
  3. Cool in the pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Remove from the pan and cool 10 more minutes. Serve warm or at room temperature.

 

The Siracha mayo was just about a cup of mayo mixed with however much Siracha you want, just make sure to taste it before you put it on things! For the floats, I bought chocolate ice cream and cream soda and a dark chocolate garnish. It made for a light tasting float, even with all the chocolate!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    May 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

