New Job

Posted on June 28, 2012. Filed under: Dining |

A new restaurant job means….trying more food. GAAHHH!! Not really, I actually enjoy the food I’ve tried at Pass Times. I’ve been working there for about a week, and I think I’ve tried 4 or 5 different things. My favorite item on the menu is still their pretzel sticks, the only reason I love them so much is because they put them in the deep fryer for a couple minutes. I was pretty happy when I heard that…and a little sad for my heart, with my love  of bacon the poor thing has to be clogging. (I know what you’re thinking, “Rachel, don’t you run?” well, not right now, sleep is kind of important with two jobs!)

The menu is small, but pretty varied for bar food. They have some Mexican; queso dip, quesidillas, and guacamole, bunches of different sandwiches and burgers, a few wraps and salads. I’ve had one wrap there, the buffalo chicken wrap, and it’s amazing. It is very close to the bdubs buffalo chicken ranch wrap, but they have real bleu cheese crumbles in it. I just tried the cobb salad yesterday and I want to eat it again already. It comes in a large bowl topped with hard boiled egg, bleu cheese crumbles, grilled chicken, onion, bacon, and chopped tomatoes. I probably shouldn’t have finished the whole thing, but I was hungry, I put away the beer order that morning.

One of the best parts about working at Pass Times is that I get to have Matt’s cooking when he’s working. He’s a smart cook who can come up with almost anything from the supplies they have in the kitchen. The other day, he made a buffalo chicken flatbread sandwich. My only complaint was that it was a little messy, but that’s a small complaint. I personally think he should apply to be on Chopped, they’re taking applications for next season and I bookmarked  it. I may apply myself for the amateur episodes they may do. It would be awesome if either of us made it on, and even more awesome if either of us won. $10,000 is a pretty great deal of money.

I haven’t had time to cook much lately. Even if I had, I hadn’t really had the energy. The other night I made French Toast, but that is so easy. I hadn’t made it in years and it still only took me about 20 minutes from start to finish. I do want to try making them with Rum Chata. Rum Chata is Horchata with rum. It basically tastes like cinnamon toast crunch toast milk, and who doesn’t like that? The problem is, the bottle is $25 and I don’t want to spend that just to make French Toast. Maybe for that, some whipped cream and a cheesecake. (We talk a lot at work about what we would make with it).

Hopefully the long weeks will be done soon, and I’ll have the energy to cook in my new kitchen when I move. I move July 30 and I’m freaked out, excited and nervous all in one. But I’ll survive, I’ve survived all sorts of things, and this isn’t bad, this will be fun. Life is always changing and one has to adapt.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    June 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

