Queso, what would I do without you?

Posted on August 14, 2012. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , , |

There are very few foods I crave almost all the time. Triskits being one, and queso dip being another. But not just ANY queso dip. El Amigo’s queso dip is my favorite. El Amigo is a small Mexican restaurant on north Calumet here in Valpo. I guess there’s a few of them, but the one here in town is the only one I’ve been to. I also go only later at night, but that’s a different story. There’s just something about that dip that keeps me coming back. It’s the perfect liquid consistency and the perfect seasoning. The chips are even perfect. Normally I like my chips salty, but you don’t need to add any salt to these because the dip has the perfect amount. I have some in my fridge right now, it warms up to the exact same even after sitting in the fridge.

Besides their queso, the rest of their food is pretty fantastic. The menu has more than just the stereotypical Mexican food you find here in America. I remember the first time I got a gordita from there I was expecting a Taco Bell style, man was I wrong. It’s a lot more messy, but has a lot more flavor. My favorite item from there (besides the queso) is their avocado burrito. I love avocado  in pretty much every form, and it goes really well in a burrito. It’s not hot like normal burrito, but it doesn’t need to be. The flavors mix together perfectly and you don’t miss the meat.

I know, I haven’t really written much about food lately. I was going to write about Pass Times, but since it doesn’t exist anymore I don’t feel like that’s a good idea. That, and with the events in the past few weeks I haven’t really felt like cooking, baking, or writing about food. But, I have to break in my new Kitchen Aid so I gotta bake something! I also want to make some more ice cream (and NOT over churn it this time, learned my lesson, don’t turn it on then take a shower!) . I’m trying to get back into the swing of things again instead of just sleeping and going to work. It’s a weird process.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

