Best Combo!

Posted on August 25, 2012. Filed under: Deserts | Tags: , |

There are very few people I know who don’t like that peanut butter and chocolate combo. Most of them are allergic to one of the ingredients, actually. Matt doesn’t like many sweets, but Reeses are some of his favorite candy of all time, so you know it’s good. Mom sends me recipes she gets e-mailed to her, and she gets a lot of recipes so I get a lot. Most of them I put in a file to keep just in case I need something special, but she sent me a recipe the other day I had to try, peanut butter brownies. I finally had time last night and I was psyced! Well, I looked up the recipe (there’s just a link in the e-mail) and saw it called for brownie mix. Anyone who knows me knows I HATE using mixes. It’s not mom’s fault, she didn’t know, in fact, she hates using mixes as much as I do. So instead, I decided to make up my own peanut butter brownie recipe. That was pretty brave for me. I have no problem making up my own recipe when I’m cooking, but not when I’m baking. Maybe it’s because I don’t want to mess with the chemical reactions in my baked goods. I used a base recipe and went from there and….success! Moist, peanut buttery brownies are now ready for consumption. The one good thing about Matt not really liking sweets is that he’ll eat some, but not all of them so I’m sharing! They’re coming to work with me this morning. One of my co workers says he’ll eat my food, and he doesn’t eat anyone’s food. So, here ya go! (Just a warning though, the peanut butter part is all guesses, I didn’t really measure anything!)

Peanut Butter Brownies
3 cp Sugar, divided
1 3/4 cp flour
3/4 cp cocoa
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 1/2 cp milk, divided
1/2 cp vegetable oil
2 tsp vanilla
1 cp boiling water
1 cp peanut butter
splash of vanilla

  1. Combine dry ingredients in a bowl, leaving one cup of the sugar out. Add eggs, 2 cups of the milk, oil and vanilla and beat on medium speed. Stir in the water, the batter will be very thin. Pour into greased and floured pan.
  2. In the same bowl, combine peanut butter, the remaining milk, and sugar and vanilla. Beat until thinner. You may need some more milk, the batter should have the consistency of a thin cookie dough. Pour into pan with the brownie batter and mix, just to get the lumps out.
  3. Bake at 350 for 35-40 mins. The middle may not seem 100% done, but that’s ok, pull it out anyway. You can top with powdered sugar if you like.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

