Pie-o-rific

Posted on September 15, 2012. Filed under: Dining |

I had dinner with my parents tonight. Dad didn’t want fast food, so he picked Baker’s Square. It’s been forever since I’d been there. I generally don’t go to places like that if I can avoid it. (Let’s be honest, I may have been the youngest person in there besides our server). The girl who was serving us was new to the serving profession and it was obvious. She was trying, but let’s face it, she was a little freaked out and not at all comfortable. Not her fault, hopefully she’ll learn. Anyway, they have this deal where you can pick from a sandwich, a salad or soup, and a piece of pie. I had ordered a flat bread sandwich that had tomato and spinach on it, and I got a turkey bacon flat bread sandwich instead (I didn’t say anything, considering mom had to send her sandwich back due to the wrong cheese). It was actually pretty good, I’m not 100% sure what type of cheese was on it, but it worked. On the side I got a baslmic apple salad. I wasn’t to sure about it, only because of the mix of baslmic and apple. However, it worked. The lettuce mix was simple, but they added bleu cheese crumbles, walnuts, and some green apples. It was the highlight of my meal. If I end up there again (probably not….) I’ll get that salad.

It was a little odd being in a Baker’s Square as it is. Like I said earlier, I was probably one of the youngest people there. Granted, it WAS around 5, so maybe that’s why. You laugh, but that’s when my parents have been having dinner for years. My dad worked midnights for a long time and would go to bed right after that, so family dinner was at 5, when we could have it. Work and school functions took over when I was in high school.

All and all, take your grandparents to Baker’s Square, I think they’d love it.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

