Cheesey!!

Posted on September 16, 2012. Filed under: Deserts, Main Course | Tags: , , , |

Earlier in the week when I wasn’t feeling well, I bought some Tostino’s Zesty Taco Cheese Dip. Honestly, I’m still not sure why I did that. It was alright, but nothing that I’d normally eat. I’m going to blame the fact that I was sick. Matt made a dip with some ground beef, lettuce and sour cream which was really good. Today I thought I’d try something different and make a chicken dish with the rest of the taco dip, and it turned out really good, I’m impressed with myself. It was really simple to make and it didn’t take that long after the chicken thawed. I also had some sweet potatoes that were left at my house by a friend, and Matt had told him I would make sweet potato pie. I’d never actually made sweet potato pie before, but it couldn’t be that hard, right? Along with that I made some sweet potato mash because hey, there’s 4 potatoes so why not?

The chicken was a success, and I’m hoping the pie will be, it’s still cooling. Hope you try it out yourself!

Zesty Cheesy Chicken

2 boneless chicken breasts
Salt and Peper
Paprika
Chili Powder
1/2 cp Tostino’s Zesty Taco Dip
2 cps rice, cooked

  1. Season the chicken with salt, peper, paprika and chili powder. Pan fry with some oil until cooked through.
  2. Add the taco dip and heat until warm, serve over rice.

Sweet Potato Pie
(From http://allrecipes.com/recipe/sweet-potato-pie-i/)

1 (1 pound) sweet potato
1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup white sugar
1/2 cup milk
2 eggs
1/2 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 (9 inch) unbaked pie crust

  1.  Boil sweet potato whole in skin for 40 to 50 minutes, or until done. Run cold water over the sweet potato, and remove the skin.
  2. Break apart sweet potato in a bowl. Add butter, and mix well with mixer. Stir in sugar, milk, eggs, nutmeg, cinnamon and vanilla. Beat on medium speed until mixture is smooth. Pour filling into an unbaked pie crust.
  3. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 55 to 60 minutes, or until knife inserted in center comes out clean. Pie will puff up like a souffle, and then will sink down as it cools.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

