Kinda Caprese?

Posted on October 12, 2012. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , , |

Today was payday and I had been wanting something healthy to eat. The one problem with spending so much time with Matt is that he really won’t eat anything healthy, so my only time to eat something different or healthy is when he’s at work. I went to the store wanting to make a caprese pasta. It would be something simple and healthy. Well, that changed while I was walking through the produce area. I started out with the fresh mozzarella and some cherry tomatoes, then all of a sudden I was adding fresh mushrooms, red onion, garlic and spinach. I decided then to change it up and grab some cheap white wine, and balsamic vinegar.  I went to grab one box of whole grain penne…and they were 98 cents a box! So I grabbed 4, but let’s be honest, I’ll use them all. I used one whole box of penne for this recipe so I’ll have left overs, but it can easily be made smaller. With all my recipes, remember that I cook mostly to taste so measurements are guessed.

I ate two plates of this pasta, my only mistake was that I added WAY to much red pepper so it is on the spicy side, but it didn’t completely cover up the other flavors in the dish.

Kinda Caprese Pasta

1 box whole wheat penne
1/2 red onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, smashed
1 can chickpeas
1 bag fresh spinach
1 pkg mushrooms
1 pkg cherry tomatoes, halved
1 sm pkg fresh mozzarella pearls
Salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp red pepper flakes
1 tbsp basil
1 cp dry white wine
drizzle of balsamic vinegar

  1. Cook the pasta and put aside.
  2. Cook the onion and garlic in olive oil until fragrant, add the chickpeas, seasonings and wine. Cook until beans are soft.
  3. Add the pasta into the skillet and stir to combine. Add in the vinegar.
  4. Take half of the pasta out and put it in a bowl. Mix the tomatoes,  half of the mozzarella pearls, and half of the bag of spinach. Mix the other half of the mozzarella and spinach in the pasta that is still in the skillet until cheese is melted and spinach is wilted, but not fully cooked. Mix the cooking pasta in with the rest of the pasta and stir.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    October 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

