What a dissapointment!

Posted on November 23, 2012. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , |

No, I’m not talking about today’s turkey dinner, Aunt Peg always does a great job (even though today she thought she didn’t) I’m talking about the new burger place here in Valpo. It opened up just last week and as soon as I heard it was opened, I wanted to go. I love a good burger and it’s so hard to find a good burger here in town. So, last night, Matt, Kevin and I decided to try it out. We walked in and almost immediately felt under dressed. Sure, the place is called Burgerhaus, but I wasn’t expecting it to be decorated like a five star restaurant. The space was small, I remember that from when Big Daddy’s was in there, but they had put a wall pretty much right through the middle and it made the entire space feel very claustrophobic. We were sat in a booth right next to the kitchen (not the best seat in the house, but then again it was the only seat open). Kevin decided to get us an appetizer of spicy bleu cheese fries. We were all expecting to get spicy fries with some bleu cheese crumbles, what we got was spicy fries with liquid bleu cheese dressing, and I’m not talking normal dressing, I’m talking the dressing was almost milky in consistency. They were alright, but not my favorite.

I decided to get a burger called the Rinlund, it had gouda, beer braised onions on a briosh bun. The burger was smaller than I thought, and I couldn’t taste the gouda. I ended up only eating half of it, I was not impressed. My side of cole slaw, however, was actually really good, and I’m not a big slaw fan. I can’t remember what burger Kevin got, but I don’t remember him being too excited about it either. Matt got their classic burger with cheddar and I know he didn’t really like it either.

Another thing that was a shocker was that a lot of their burgers came with American Cheese. While I don’t have anything against American, if you want to have  a high class burger joint, use high class cheese, there are hundreds of varieties, and they stuck to American, Mozz, Gouda, and Cheddar, but most of the burgers had American.

Now, since the place has only been open for a short week, you do have to try everything with a grain of salt. When places first open, they always have to improve, but they have a lot of improving to do. I would wait a few months and see if they changed their menu and the quality of food. If you want to go yourself, Burgerhaus is located on the north end of Calumet here in Valpo.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    November 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

