Winery Heaven!

Posted on December 7, 2012. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , |

My friend Katie is a journalist, and her next piece is on people who travel during the holidays, and since I had been on tour for holidays in the past, she asked to interview me. We decided we were going to meet in between our two places, but took a while to figure out where. At first, I was thinking coffee house, but there weren’t very many good ones near the mall where we were headed, so I kept pulling a blank. Katie suggested we go to Cooper’s Hawk Winery, that had just opened in the mall. I thought, why not? I like wine.

The restaurant itself is very classy, almost too classy for the mall, but that doesn’t matter. Once you’re inside, you can’t really tell it’s in a mall. I got got a sparking peach sangria and it tasted just really good peach juice, which is dangerous. The only thing that kept me from having more than two was the price, they were just over $6 a piece. Most of the menu was very high price, with plates ranging from $10-$25. I got a honey ham and brie sandwich and a mixed green side salad. Before we ate, they brought us a fresh pretzel roll, which had me hooked right away. Katie and I split two. My sandwich was really good, I was impressed. The bun it came on was warm and not too light, so it didn’t get soggy. They had home made honey mustard on it that I want to eat with a spoon it was so good. It also had some candied walnuts that added a perfect crunch. My salad was also very good. The only weird thing about it was that I got one raspberry and one really thin slice of pear. But everything else about it, down to the craisens made it perfect.

If you have some time and some extra cash, I’d check it out! Everything there seemed very good and very well made. They have a large selection of wine, martinis and some decent beer, so everyone can find something to drink.  And, if you end up liking the wine, you can buy bottles for yourself!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

