Finally Good Mediterranean in Valpo!

Posted on December 9, 2012. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , |

I love Mediterranean food; pasta, falafal, shwarama, you name it, I’ll try it. Until recently, the only place near by was Aladdin Pita in Merriville, and that was still half an hour away. A place called Mediterreina opened up on the corner of Washington and Jefferson right downtown Valpo, and Maureen asked me to go. She had been talking about it before and had gone there a few times, and I really wanted to go just hearing about it.

The restaurant is very small; it’s been many things, including the Blackbird Bakery, so there was never much room to begin with. There’s only about ten tables with a small counter that fits about four people, and that’s a little squished. We sat at a table right in front of the door, I’m talking maybe about 10 feet away. Maureen had said that was a problem if the weather was bad, and I could see why. I decided on the falafal wrap, which is like a normal falafal pita but with a lot more vegetables so it’s way bigger. That came with a small salad and I got a cup of their tomato lentil soup. My bill was just over $10, so it’s a pretty good deal. They serve wine and beer there, and that list is about as big as the main menu itself. Neil got a Turkish coffee that he let me try, and I was impressed that even though it was strong, it didn’t taste very bitter. My wrap was very good, the extra veggies in it helped fill me up, so I didn’t eat the salad that was made from the same veggies. The falafal itself looked as if it had been made in the back, not frozen and thrown in the fryer and the tzaki sauce tasted homemade as well. The soup tasted like it was home made, so I was very impressed.

Prices on the menu range from my lunch, around $10 to just a little over $15, so it’s pretty moderately priced for anything downtown. I had been a little concerned because Maureen had said it wasn’t the cheapest lunch in town, but honestly, it’s not that much than what we charge at Bdubs, but a much better quality. They have  mixture of all different types of Mediterranean food they serve daily and specials that change. They do have pasta, but honestly, I would try something different if you go in. Lunch was packed, so I’m assuming dinner would be also and they do cater to everyone of all ages, even though (besides the baby) we were the youngest people in the restaurant at that time. If you get a chance to go in, I would. It’s worth the price and even the limited elbow room.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    December 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

