Ravenous Ravioli!

Posted on January 10, 2013. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , , |

Mom and dad got me a pasta roller for Christmas. It’s a hand crank one with a few different attachments, one of them being ravioli. Mom sent some ham back with me after Christmas, so I had an idea to make ham and cheese ravioli. The last time I made home made pasta, it was good, just really thick. I was hoping that my new roller would help me with that, and it did, except I had it set a little thick, but that was my fault. What I’ve discovered is that my ham and cheese ravioli tasted good, but the ricotta and Romano mix dissipated into the ravioli. I think I’ll have to add a heavier cheese the next time I make it.

Another issue I had was that it took a LOT of water in the dough to make it stick, it’s the same problem I always have with pie dough for some reason. Next time I’m going to do what I do with the pie dough and use my food processor to make the dough, that seems to help.

The recipe makes quite a bit, and I believe I have about two servings of ravioli, but I know it will make much more angel hair or linguini because it’s not as thick. Making pasta by hand is much harder than buying it from the store, but I think it is much cheaper (flour, eggs, salt and water aren’t expensive) and it can be made healthier because you know what is in it. If you have the time, try it out!

Ham and Cheese Ravioli

Filling

Leftover ham, chopped into small pieces
1/2 cp sharp cheddar

Pasta
3 cps flour
2 eggs
3 tbsp water (or more)
1 tsp oil
1/4 tsp salt

  1. Mix the ham and cheddar and set aside.
  2. Mix the four, eggs, water, oil and salt. Knead until a ball forms; you may need more water to do so.
  3. Take a piece of the dough and feed it through your pasta roller, making sure it is thin enough. Fold the dough in half and feed it into the ravioli attachment just a bit to catch. Put the filling in the fold and crank, catching the pasta below.
  4. Separate the ravioli and cook in a pot of boiling water until they float, it will only take a few minutes. Serve with your favorite sauce.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

