It’s not often I dream of a restuarant

Posted on January 25, 2013. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , |

Oh wait, yes it is. A hibachi place called BC Osaka opened up in Merriville a few months ago and I’ve been  wanting to go ever since I heard it opened, but Matt had always brought up the point that hibachi is kind of strange with two people, so we always wanted to wait until we could get a group together. We were hanging out with one of his friends who mentioned there was also a buffet and that made me want to go even more. This past Tuesday Matt and I finally got to go and let me tell you , it was amazing.

The dinner buffet was $14 a person, which seems high until you actually see the buffet. It wraps around the back wall of one side of this huge building. There are over 10 different types of sushi, a row to make your own Mongolian BBQ, a salad bar and pretty much every normal Chinese and Japanese item you find in a buffet. I swear I went back for ten plates, but it was more like 3. Everything was perfect, except the calamari. I could tell that it wasn’t fresh and had been sitting there for a while; it was gummy and kind of tasted like the Shedd Aquarium smells. (It was hard to get that out of my nose, trust me!).

Noramlly, I’m afraid to try sushi this far away from the ocean; the fish for sushi pretty much has to have been taken from the ocean a few moments before it was cut up and rolled with rice. I was really impressed though. I got a Philly roll, a tuna roll, and my favorite, a California roll. Everything tasted to so fresh that I’m willing to branch out and try more sushi with different fish.

I love Mongolian BBQ and while this buffet didn’t have a lot of choices, they choices were great, fresh, and made to order perfectly. They had full pieces of steak and chicken along with cubed beef and shrimp to be added to your own mixture. I may go back just to get the Mongolian BBQ and the sushi and nothing else; those two things alone are worth the price of the buffet.

BC Osaka is located on route 30 in Merriville and is open for lunch and dinner with the buffet and the hibachi. They’re open till 10 during the week and 10:30 on the weekend. If you’re out by the mall out there there’s no stopping going in for some great food.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    January 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

