Steak Heaven!

Posted on February 20, 2013. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , |

Ever since I moved to Valpo, I wanted to try Kelsey’s Steak House. Matt and I tried to go for Valentine’s last year, but we did our Valentine’s on a Monday, but Kelsey’s is closed on Monday’s, so we went to Pesto’s instead. This year, we did Valentine’s on a Tuesday so we could actually go to Kelsey’s.

The location of the restaurant has always made me laugh; it’s a four start steak house on RT 30, in front of Wal-mart, a Chase, and right next to Steak n Shake and a Shoe Depot. Luckily, from the inside you really can’t tell (except we were sat next to a window looking at scenic Steak n Shake), everything is covered in dark, stained wood and just gives a feeling of comfort and good food.

They gave us a special’s menu when they sat us, and spinach dip stared up at me from the table, I had to get it. I’d put it on par with mine; just with less garlic. I got a Domingo (? I think that’s how you spell it) medium rare, smothered in bleu cheese with side of garlic mashed potatoes. It came with a soup, I had minestrone. The steak was the best I’ve ever had, it was perfectly cooked, so tender and juicy and the bleu cheese on top made it even better. The garlic mashed potatoes just melted in my mouth and the soup was perfect. Now, I’m not sure if it’s because I haven’t been eating full meals anymore or that I just haven’t been eating a lot in one sitting, I could only eat half my steak, so I brought it home; I’ll probably eat it tomorrow. Matt got the surf in turf with the filet mingon medallions with a twice baked potato. I got to try one of his garlic shrimp and it was also very good, along with his potato (he always let’s me try his food.) He couldn’t finish his food either, though and it also came home.

Prices at Kelsey’s are high, our bill was $68, but I think the price was worth it. Everything was cooked to perfection and it makes a perfect, once a year, special occasion meal. If you would like to visit Kelsey’s, they are located on Rt 30 near the Highway 49 exit. They are open from 4-9 Tuesday through Friday, 4-8:30 on Saturday and 12-8 on Sundays.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    February 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

