Throw it in, Why not?

Posted on April 24, 2013. Filed under: Main Course | Tags: , , |

Most Mondays, my friend Calli comes over and I cook something, watch Food Network and have a few drinks. Yea, we’re exciting. We’ve bonded over the past couple of months because we both love cooking and food so much. She’s also pretty open minded to trying stuff, which is awesome because Matt (Love that man, but really) is very picky and it’s hard to get him to try food. All day yesterday I was thinking about cheese, chicken and rice. So, when I took Matt to work, I grabbed some groceries. I originally wanted chicken breast, but at that point they only had frozen ones and I just didn’t have time to thaw them, so I went for some boneless thighs instead. I like white meat better, but I figured, why not? Being able to experiment with my food is a lot of fun and it helps me discover different things. What I made wasn’t at all what I imagined in my head, but it was really good. The hardest part about this dish is the time it takes to chop everything up, but it’s worth it.

Cheesy Rice and Chicken Bake

1 white onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, smashed and chopped
6 boneless chicken thighs, cut to pieces
2 bunches of broccoli, chopped
2-3 cups of brown rice (I used Minute)
2 cups of shredded cheese, Mozzarella and Colby Jack
1 can of Cream of Mushroom Soup
Balsamic Vinegar
Salt, Pepper, paprika, dill and fennel to taste

  1. Saute the onion and garlic in some olive oil, adding a splash of Balsamic, salt and pepper. Cook until transparent.
  2. Add in the thighs, with a little more oil and cook through. Add the fennel at this time as well.
  3. Once the thighs are cooked, add in the broccoli and start cooking the rice.
  4. When the rice is cooked, add it into the chicken mixture and spread half into a 9 x 13 pan, mixing in the cheese and soup. Mix in the rest of the rice and chicken mixutre. Sprinkle with dill and paprika and cover with remaining cheese. Cook in the oven at 350 for about 5 minutes, just until the cheese is melted. Serve right away, add some Siracha is you need an extra kick.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    April 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

