So behind!

Posted on June 22, 2013. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , , , |

I’ve been neglecting my restaurant reviews, and that’s terrible of me. I’ve tried two different restaurants in the past month, they get their own posts, of course.

This first place is Dickies BBQ. I didn’t know they were a chain until recently, but none the less, here they are. They moved into Valpo about a month and a half ago now, two doors down from one of my favorite places, Tomato Bar. Matt was on days that week (that was awful, but we’re not going into that!) and most of his coworkers had been talking about going to Dickies for lunch and he really wanted to go. I picked him up after he got off work and we went straight there.

One of the cool things about Dickies is that they smoke their meat every day; there isn’t much better than freshly smoked meat, let me tell you. They have a lot of daily options, sandwich options, full rib options, and side items. Matt and I both got the Westiner, which has two choices of meat. I got the pulled port and the ham (I wanted turkey, but they were out.) and I believe Matt got the pulled pork and spicy sausage. They sandwich doesn’t come with sides, but we felt we needed some, so I got their mashed potato casserole and waffle fries. Matt got the mac and cheese and potato salad. You get to put your own sauces on your meat, so I got all three of their sauces; sweet, spicy sweet, and original.

My sandwich was amazing. The pulled pork was sweet and perfectly smoked and the ham was out of this world. I loved the sweet and original sauces, so I was dipping my whole sandwich in them! The waffle fries weren’t anything special, but I’m ok with that because the mashed potato casserole was fantastic. It had the perfect mixture of chives and bacon that made me want to keep eating it! Matt’s potato salad was just as good, I may get that the next time.

Prices at Dickies may be a little high. With both of our sandwiches and one drink, our bill was $24. But honestly, for what we got, it wasn’t too high of a price.

If you want to check out one of Dickies locations, there is one in Portage on RT 6 and here in Valparaiso on LaPort ave. They’re open from 11 am to about 10 pm.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    June 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

