Spanish Fiesta

Posted on June 22, 2013. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , , |

Victoria texted me last week and said she was going to be up in my area this week, and I was really happy. I couldn’t go with her and Katie to the Dunes, so I suggested lunch on Thursday. She wanted to go to Don Quixote, and I agreed because I had never been there before myself.

We met there around noon on Thursday. While they do have their full menu for lunch, they do have a shortened menu with different specials as well. I focused on the lunch menu that had a few salads, sandwiches and some small entrees. I decided on the Spanish Tortilla and a salad. Victoria got the Pepita sandwich with gazpacho.

My Spanish tortilla sandwich was unlike anything I had ever had. It was served on French bread, and the tortilla part was more like an omlette with some onions and cheese that I can’t pronounce (but it was so good!).  My salad on the side was nothing too special, lettuce, olives (which I moved, gross) red onions and tomatoes with a vinaigrette. I tried some of Victoria’s gazpacho and it was really good, I’ve never had chilled soup before and I think I’ll try it again. While lunch was good, dessert was even better. We asked for the dessert tray to be brought over and our waitress went through all of them and she finished with a poached pear served over ice cream. I had to get it, and I wasn’t disappointed.  The pear was poached in red wine and tasted almost exactly like the Amish spiced apple rings I used to have at Napanee when I was younger. It was probably one of the best restaurant desserts I think I’ve ever had. I’ve been telling Cali we need to go there just to have that again.

Prices on the lunch menu are actually pretty good. My sandwich and dessert ended up being $17, plus a $4 tip, and honestly I’m pretty fine with that.

Besides the restaurant, they do have a store where you can buy Spanish wares like pottery, kitchen ware and tableware which is right next store. If the restaurant isn’t open when you first get there, you can always browse  the store while you’re waiting and get ideas for your own Spanish food night!

If you want to check them out, Don Quixote is located on Linclonway ave here in Valparaiso and they’re open for lunch until 2 and open for dinner around 5 pm.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    June 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

