De-constructed?

Posted on August 10, 2013. Filed under: Dining, Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

So, I’ve had this idea for a while for a basil pasta ravioli with an asparagus filling, sounds awesome, right? Well, I tend to forget that I’m just bad at dough, and I should stick to the basics before I try the complicated stuff, but I never listen to myself. Anyway, my “ravioli” turned out to be a bit thick and deconstructed, but everything else about my dish was fantastic. I made a home made red sauce that is to die for and the filling, oh the filling was perfect. I’m thinking about getting some lasagna noodles and making rolitini out of it later. Now, my sauce recipe is huge because I made some extra to freeze, so if you want to make it for yourself, just make less than what I did.

Basil Pasta

3 cps flour
2 large eggs
3 tbsp water
1 tps olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt
5 fresh basil leaves, chopped

  1. You can either mix this by hand or use a food processor, I used the food processor. Mix all in at the same time until a ball of dough forms, you made need to add more water, I did.
  2. When rolling the dough, start thick and slowly work it out thinner until it is almost paper thin
  3. Either use a ravioli form or just free form it, and put the filling in the middle.

Asparagus Ricotta Filling

1 bunch asparagas1 15 oz container ricotta
Red pepper flakes to taste

  1. Cut the woody parts of the asparagus off and boil them until soft. Put them into a food processor and cut until they have the consistency of baby food.
  2. Remove from the processor and mix with the ricotta and pepper flakes. Put the filling in your dough, and boil.

Red Sauce (The big batch!)

1 large sweet vidalia onion1 large red onion
2 green peppers
6 cloves garlic, smashed
5 basil leaves, chopped
28 oz can tomato sauce
28 oz can crushed tomato
3 tbsp oregno
Salt and pepper to taste
olive oil
Balsamic Vinagar

  1. Combine the onions, peppers, and garlic, oil and vinegar in a pot, saute until the onions are translucent, but not caramelized.
  2. Add tomatoes, basil and other seasonings, bring to a simmer and let it simmer covered for about 20 minutes, stiring every once in a while.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    August 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

