Balance

Posted on March 5, 2014. Filed under: Dining | Tags: , , , , |

Life is all about balance. Work and play, awake and sleep, good and bad. I’ve been re-balancing my life, mostly with my food. When Matt and I were having our issues, I lost a bit of weight. When we started working things out, I didn’t really want to gain it back, and I started taking control of what I ate. Before, he and I would eat a lot of take out, a lot of fast food late and night, I didn’t want to do that because it made me feel like crap. Now, if we do eat out, it’s at a restaurant that has less processed food. I make most of my meals with fresh veggies, and it’s showed. I have better energy and I know what I’m eating is making my health all over better. I still eat the bad stuff, too, though, because that’s the balance part. I’ll let myself eat the bad food, only if I eat something good first. The healthy food fills me up much quicker and it keeps me from eating a lot of the bad food.

Something I’ve been eating pretty much every day is a salad that I’ve called my “Super Healthy Salad.” It’s filled with super foods that are filled with vitamines. It doesn’t really need a recipe, but I’m going to tell you how to construct it.

Super Healthy Salad

Fresh KaleFresh Spinach
Cucumbers, chopped
Strawberries, chopped
Red onions, chopped
Raw pecans
dried Cranberries
Cooked quinoa or chickpeas
Balsamic dressing (below)

  1. Rip the kale into bite sized pieces, add to the bowl with the spinach, cucumbers, strawberries, onions, pecans and cranberries and quinoa or chickpeas if you want them. Season with salt and pepper, and a little garlic powder. Pour on the dressing.

Balsamic Dressing

  1. Mix equal parts of olive oil and Balsamic vinegar. Add a splash of either fresh lemon or lime juice with salt, pepper, and a little honey. Wisk to incorporate. You can use right away, or store room temperature. It will separate, but you can mix it back together very easily.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    March 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Apr »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

