Let me sing the praises

Posted on May 24, 2014. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , |

For the past few months, I’ve been talking about using coconut oil for pretty much everything…but not for food. Janis, the woman who cuts my hair had suggested using it as a treatment for my hair to help combat the awful water we have here in Valpo. (It’s really hard, I’m not sure how anyone grew up with it.) So I started putting it in my hair twice a week, over night, and had awesome results. My hair was much softer, I didn’t see any split ends, and the water had stopped turning the ends of it orange.

Around the same time I started using it as a lotion after my shower as well, and that saved me through the hard winter we had. The properties of coconut oil seem to go very well with smoothing skin and keeping it moisturized. So much so, that I decided to start using it as my shaving cream; my legs had never been softer. The razer glides perfectly over the skin and acts almost new, even if it’s not.  And, because I always shave in the shower, the oil soaks right up into my skin because my pores are more open.

After doing this for a few weeks, though, I noticed my legs were starting to get dry a few hours after my shower. That had never happened before, so I thought I needed to use a body scrub. I had a found a recipe for a coffee and coconut body scrub online and decided to use it. (Why not, I live on coffee!) Today was my first day using the scrub and it felt amazing! I would suggest trying it out once, or twice a week in the shower. Sure, I smell a little like coffee and my bathtub looked like I had rolled around in the garden, but I feel like my skin is much softer. The scrub is very easy to make, and if you make a double batch like I did, you can put it right back in the coconut oil jar and have enough for the shower right after. The website I found this on has 4 other scrubs that I would also like to try. Which one would you like to try?

Coffee and Coconut Oil Body Scrub
(from Brit+Co)

1/2 cp Sugar
1/2 cp Coffee Grounds
1 cp coconut oil

  1. Mix together in a bowl, making sure to squeeze out all of the lumps of coconut oil. You can store in an air tight jar. While in the shower, scrub in small circles, rinse clean.
Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • Fooddays

    May 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jul »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

